Site icon Business Magazine – Ideas and News for Entrepreneurs

A Guide To Understanding All Zombie Types In The Last Of Us

The Last Of Us franchise presents an interesting twist to the genre of zombie-led apocalypse. It franchise consists of a video game and a series. The first season of the series premiered in January 2023.  We do not know what kind of infected zombies we will see in the series, but based on the video game, there are five stages of evolution.

According to ExpressVPN, there are five types of infected zombies based on the time they have been infected for. Each infected has different characteristics as they evolve to get armor and poisonous attack systems. The Last Of Us shows Joel and Ellie on the run through the infected lands.

Understand All Zombie Types In The Last Of Us

The Last Of Us presents a dystopian world after 20 years of the cordyceps breakout. The zombies in the series are not necessarily zombies, as they are not actually dead. The zombies or the infected in the franchise are simply infected by a fungi breakout that gradually takes control over their minds and body.

The Last Of Us Disease Spread Timeline

There are only two ways for someone to be infected by the cordyceps fungus. Firstly, if you inhale the cordyceps spores, you will get infected. Secondly, if someone who has already been infected bites you, you will get infected. The best way to protect yourself against the infected is to kill them or stay hidden from them.

The timeline to get infected varies on the body part an individual is bitten. The infection spreads faster if it is closer to the brain. Someone who is bitten close to their neck or head will get infected within 10-15 minutes. While someone who has been bitten on the upper torso will get infected in 2-8 hours. It takes up to 12 hours to a day to get infected after a bite on the feet or legs. The best chance of survival is if you have been bitten near your legs or feet, as it delays the infection significanlty.

Zombie Types In The Last Of Us

There are five types of infected zombies in The Last Of Us. The types of zombies are based on their stage of evolution.


The Last Of Us has different stages of evolution of the infected. The evolution of the zombies is an indicator of how long they have been infected. After each stage of evolution, the infected get harder to kill. It is also notable that with each stage, the infected get newer methods to attack people. While the weaker infected can be killed by blunt force attack, the infected in the last stage of evolution need firepower and bombs to be killed. It is safe to say that highly evolved infected are very dangerous, and you must avoid attacking them.

Now that you’re familiar with all infected types, you’re ready for The Last of Us marathon!

Exit mobile version